The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 11-09-2011, 02:47 PM

Default Starter Resonator

Hi folks,
I'm a relative newbie to guitars, I play upside down open-tuned made-up nonsense (which you can see examples of here -> (my youtube channel).
However, I want to try my hand with a resonator as I adore the sound of them and I think it would suit my style.
My problem is two-fold:
  1. I don't have thousands of pounds to spend. In fact I barely have hundreds.
  2. I have no idea what's good and what's bad manufacturer-wise

So that leads me on to three questions:
  1. What are some good budget manufacturers of resonator guitars?
  2. What differences are there/what's best between single-cone and dual-/tri-cone? Volume? Tone?
  3. How much should I be looking to pay for a starter resonator??

(a possible fourth question - what am I forgetting to ask here?)
Thanks for taking the time to read and respond

Matt
Old 11-09-2011, 02:56 PM
AGF Sponsor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maffu View Post
Hi folks,
I'm a relative newbie to guitars, I play upside down open-tuned made-up nonsense (which you can see examples of here -> (my youtube channel).
However, I want to try my hand with a resonator as I adore the sound of them and I think it would suit my style.
My problem is two-fold:
  1. I don't have thousands of pounds to spend. In fact I barely have hundreds.
  2. I have no idea what's good and what's bad manufacturer-wise

So that leads me on to three questions:
  1. What are some good budget manufacturers of resonator guitars?
  2. What differences are there/what's best between single-cone and dual-/tri-cone? Volume? Tone?
  3. How much should I be looking to pay for a starter resonator??

(a possible fourth question - what am I forgetting to ask here?)
Thanks for taking the time to read and respond

Matt
Matt,
Get in touch with Bottleneck John and he can hook you up: