The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-05-2024, 07:50 PM

Default Rig Advice

First time poster here looking for some gear advice. I've been playing for about 40 years and while I've been mostly an electric player, I play acoustic gigs in both solo and duo formats.

My current setup is a Taylor 314CE into a Fishman ToneDEQ into a pair of Bose S1s. I find I really have to fight this setup. There is little to no sustain, bending is extremely tough, and playing legato is next to impossible because I constantly feel like I have to drag notes out of it.

I've tried lighter gauge strings as well as various compressor settings on the Fishman to no avail.

Any pointers on where to begin? Part of me wonders if something like an Anderson Crowdster would be the ticket but it's a spendy proposition without the certainty that it will address my concerns.

Thanks for your help!
Old 03-05-2024, 08:43 PM
Charter Member

Hi Tone Jones, welcome to the forum!

It's not unusual.... for this to be the case. Sorry it was an open goal.

A banjo is acoustically loud but has no sustain. An acoustic guitar is loud enough to accompany singing and has some sustain. A solid body electric is virtually silent but has lots of sustain (which comes out when you plug it in).

I don't think that it's your rig. I think that you may be asking an acoustic guitar to do something that an electric guitar just does better. You wouldn't be expecting wonderful long sustain from a banjo just because it had a p/u fitted. The physics are wrong. And it is sort of the same with the acoustic guitar compared to the solid body electric, but not as extreme.

Someone here may give you some ideas for some tweaks (although it sounds like you have tried the obvious already) but you are not going to overide the physics.