The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 04-20-2024, 02:14 PM
KevWind's Avatar
KevWind KevWind is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edge of Wilderness Wyoming
Posts: 20,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Young View Post
I've done that a far bit in Logic (as well as some earlier DAWs). You can basically draw in any curve you want. It's a lot of work to program in where you want to be "rubato" or where you'd like to slowly increase the tempo, but it can be done. I've also changed time signature to support fermatas, and so on. Useful when you're working with others. I'm happy being "expressive" with time on a solo guitar piece, but if I want to ask others to overdub something, asking them to follow my free time can be a bit much. Having a click track, even if it's varying in tempo makes that all much more feasible. And having the time actually vary can help keep it from being overly stiff.
Yes after I posted I realized when I said I am uncertain if one can automate a ramp up or down in tempo = I was thinking for b1j "in studio one" (because the "metronome" feature does not appear to be a regular plugin ) I'll have to play around with S1 to see if it is doable
In PT with the click plugin it would be easy to just choose the tempo/speed as the parameter to automate, and then in that automation lane draw in, or create points and slide the relative speed change over the chosen selection range
__________________
Enjoy the Journey.... Kev...

KevWind at Soundcloud

KevWind at YouYube
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...EZxkPKyieOTgRD

System :
Studio system Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 -Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen ,, Ventura 13.2.1

Mobile MBP M1 Pro , PT Ultimate 2024.3 Sonoma 14.4

Last edited by KevWind; 04-20-2024 at 02:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-20-2024, 02:25 PM
Doug Young's Avatar
Doug Young Doug Young is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 9,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevWind View Post
Yes after I posted I realized when I said I am uncertain if one can automate a ramp up or down in tempo = I was thinking for b1j "in studio one" (because the "metronome" feature does not appear to be a regular plugin ) I'll have to play around with S1 to see if it is doable
In PT with the click plugin it would be easy to just choose the tempo/speed as the parameter to automate, and then in that automation lane draw in, or create points and slide the relative speed change over the chosen selection range
I Logic, it's a built in feature, on a header above the tracks view, not a plugin. I think at this point, all DAWs have 99.9% the same features, it's just a matter of what they call it and where they hide it.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-21-2024, 04:20 PM
min7b5's Avatar
min7b5 min7b5 is offline
Eric Skye
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 7,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Young View Post
...
... I suspect the total of all my audio recordings over decades don't add up to as much as a single video project! ..
Oh man, this is so true!!
__________________
Instruction
Youtube
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-22-2024, 02:12 PM
KevWind's Avatar
KevWind KevWind is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edge of Wilderness Wyoming
Posts: 20,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Young View Post
I Logic, it's a built in feature, on a header above the tracks view, not a plugin. I think at this point, all DAWs have 99.9% the same features, it's just a matter of what they call it and where they hide it.
JUST spend a bit fiddling with Studio One and yes it is a feature up in the header and yes you can ramp it selectively or just entire sections
__________________
Enjoy the Journey.... Kev...

KevWind at Soundcloud

KevWind at YouYube
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...EZxkPKyieOTgRD

System :
Studio system Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 -Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen ,, Ventura 13.2.1

Mobile MBP M1 Pro , PT Ultimate 2024.3 Sonoma 14.4
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-22-2024, 02:17 PM
b1j's Avatar
b1j b1j is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Lafayette, CA
Posts: 2,693
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevWind View Post
JUST spend a bit fiddling with Studio One and yes it is a feature up in the header and yes you can ramp it selectively or just entire sections
I wish I didn’t know this.

__________________
1952 Martin 0-18
1977 Gurian S3R3H with Nashville strings
2018 Martin HD-28E, Fishman Aura VT Enhance
2019 Martin D-18, LR Baggs Element VTC
2021 Gibson 50s J-45 Original, LR Baggs Element VTC
___________
1981 Ovation Magnum III bass
2012 Höfner Ignition violin ("Beatle") bass
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 04-23-2024, 07:12 AM
KevWind's Avatar
KevWind KevWind is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edge of Wilderness Wyoming
Posts: 20,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1j View Post
I wish I didn’t know this.

Ah yes the promise and curse of modern DAWs they all have extensive feature sets that most of us will never use.
But the good news is, much like the local buffet restaurant you don't have to try to pile every item on your plate at once ....
__________________
Enjoy the Journey.... Kev...

KevWind at Soundcloud

KevWind at YouYube
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...EZxkPKyieOTgRD

System :
Studio system Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 -Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen ,, Ventura 13.2.1

Mobile MBP M1 Pro , PT Ultimate 2024.3 Sonoma 14.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Thread Tools





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=