The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 07-09-2017, 08:15 AM

Default Vocal and Guitar Units - Boss VE-8 vs TCH Play Acoustic

The TCH VP has been out for a number of years and has always gotten great reviews. Then last summer ('16) the Boss VE-8 came on the scene ... But there is so much less talk about this model both here and on the 'net.

I have read all the threads and watched the videos...
Seems the consensus is the VP has the edge .. but very slightly.

I bought the TCH VP other day. I gotta say it sounds great and I'm just getting into tweaking it and checking all the functions. So far I am enjoying the sound.

When I listened to this Video comparison, I actually liked the Guitar sound on the Boss better. Vocals on the Boss sounded less "processed" and natural too.

https://youtu.be/N5Q8wxph--s

So my Gearhead side of me is wondering about the VE-8.... I especially like the multi-outputs and the addition of separate knobs. Seems it is more versatile from a I/O and control on-the-fly perspective.

But, in the end.... I am wondering if after all is said and done and all the settings are set. Which one would be a better fit for my needs.

So hoping some Boss users will chime in...Or anyone that has comment on sound and functionality of each.
Old 07-09-2017, 01:09 PM

I like my VE-8 a lot. It checks most of the same boxes as the Play Acoustic. What made me chose the VE-8 was the following:

1) Battery power option.
2) Both 1/4" and XLR outputs. This is really nice if you want to send your guitar to an acoustic amp, your voice to a PA, and use the looping function with the separate audio routings.
3) Standard 9v power supply input. I use a 1 Spot with an extra long heavy duty cable.
Old 07-09-2017, 04:56 PM

Thanks Kingston.

I really like the flexibility of multi type of outputs .. Also running on batteries could be a bonus.