The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 05-13-2022, 09:07 PM

Default Heavy gauge strings and fingers / Practice Time

A few years ago I started playing 13's set up pretty low. It's not shredder low action - but about as low as I could get it with just nut/saddle/truss rod work. Way lower than most anyone on the planet except Phil Collen plays 13's. I'm not an SRV wannabe (that was long long ago) - I started stringing heavy when I was doing a lot of double stop/diad melody and I liked the fact that it didn't accidentally bend on some of the more awkard fingerings. And I love the sound. (Rick Beato can pound sand - he did that whole video with what passed for high gain in the mid 80's)

Fast forward a few years and I took about a year off. Oh I'd noodle once in a long while but the guitar would sit for months at a time ... Not enough to completely lose all my skills but definitely enough to lose my callouses. I've been working up for a song. I've been playing for a couple weeks, and I have about 2 weeks left.. and I'm starting to wonder how long this'll take. I think I can probably get through one song with rested fingers, but I bit off a lot with a busy arrangement (and singing over a busy guitar part ), and an hour a day or so is leaving me sore.

I'm starting to wonder if I should drop down to 11's or even 10's, because me and Mr Metronome and Mr Microphone have a lot of time to spend together. The 'practice till you can't get it wrong' part. I have my guitar parts down, the next two weeks is about singing with confidence and projection with microphone and nailing it while playing a busy guitar part. It's the 2-3 weeks in part that has me worried. Is it coming back, or do I need to restring?
Old 05-14-2022, 06:33 AM