The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 05-03-2003, 12:04 AM

Default Bass Instructional Videos or Books

I'm looking for recommendations on excellent instructional bass videos or books. I am a beginner on the bass and am interested to play jazz, folk and pop on the bass.

By the way, my bass heroes are Ray Brown, Reggie Workman, Ron Carter, Leland Sklar and of course Stanley Clarke.
Old 05-03-2003, 10:46 AM

Question

I'm not a bass player...

Mel Bay has an *excellent* series of books for the guitar called Mastering the Guitar...

they seem to have now started a new series called Mastering the Bass (only one book/cd pack is out but it is going to be a 6-part series eventually) that *looks* likes it's going to have the same sort of jam-packed with exercises and play-a-long format as the guitar series....the author is Bruce Gertz...he has his own website...you can probably gather he's a serious musician...

I'd go to his website or just go to melbay.com and check it out...on mel bay's site they give samples and table of contents but it looks like for this book they messed up and gave a very incomplete table of contents...

the guitar books are 'beginner' note reading books that DO NOT stay at beginner level...

it's just a thought...
Indeed, there is something in the current DC/NY culture that equates a lack of unthinking boosterism with a lack of patriotism. As if not being drunk on the latest Dow gains is somehow un-American. - Arianna Huffington May 11, 2009
Old 05-04-2003, 04:34 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by mapletrees
I'm not a bass player...

it's just a thought...

a better thought would be accurate information...

go to www.melbay.com

do a quick search on Gertz

click on his name and you'll see there are in fact two book/cd packs out so far...

the table of contents for book 2 shows how crammed with stuff they are...

there's also a review for book 1 ...