The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-01-2016, 07:43 AM

Default Alvarez ap70 (new tuners)

Hi im having trouble keeping my ap70 in tune. Im relatively new to guitar so I can sort of hear it but my tuner definitely confirms it. It seems to be the treble end more than the bass. Iv read about people having trouble with the tuners on these guitars. Is there a solution apart from replacing? If that is the only solution can anyone recommend a decent set that won't break my bank and will be easyish to fit?

Thanks in advance guys 👍🏼
Old 12-01-2016, 09:41 AM

My MD70 came with Grovers.
It seems very stable.
I have no idea what's on the jumbo. It is also stable.
I did change out the stock tuners in my old 5014 a number of years ago.
It has had a set of gold Ping tuners for many years.
It is very stable in holding tune.
You might tighten the screws that hold on the buttons.
Also nut that holds the tuner on.

Another thing I've noticed with my 5013 is that the nut slots occasionally bind on the G-string. Then it either pulls sharp or a bit flat depending on Whether I'm tuning up or down.

Alvarez 5013
Alvarez MD70CE
Alvarez PD85S
Alvarez AJ60SC
Alvarez ABT610e
Alvarez-Yairi GY1
Takamine P3DC
Takamine GJ72CE-12-NAT
Godin Multiac Steel.
Journey Instruments OF660
Gibson G45
Old 12-01-2016, 10:06 AM
Charter Member

Location: North of the Golden Gate, South of the Redwoods, East of the Pacific and West of the Sierras