The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-08-2019, 11:05 AM

Default Songwriters—when do you pack it in on a new song?

I’m not prolific but I think I’m a pretty good writer (for an amateur).

I’ve been working actively on a new song for almost 14 months trying to get it right. I have the melody, the guitar hook, the narrative, two verses, a chorus and the bridge. I cannot get the middle verse out of me. I know exactly what I want to say and it will not come. It’s not writers block per se, just an inability to get my thoughts on paper. I have three or four variations done and they just don’t cut it.

The song started with a great guitar hook. Wondering if I should abandon ship on this and rework the hook into something else.

When do you give up and move on??
Old 04-08-2019, 11:12 AM
Charter Member

You don't. You shelve it. I've had a song on the shelf since 1974.
Old 04-08-2019, 11:34 AM

I have shelved songs for a couple of years. I'll periodically go through them and give a listen. Occasionally something strikes me that didn't before and I continue where I left off. I recently went back to one I had started over 10 years ago.
Old 04-08-2019, 11:40 AM

If it isn't coming, shelve it. I don't mean throw it out, I mean put it away and revisit

Another classic fix for this is see what a co-writer can do.

It won't work for every song, but if you have what you want to say, but you can't versify it, break out in a spoken section. Worked for Elvis and "Nights In White Satin."

Guitars: 20th Century Seagull S6-12, S6 Folk, Seagull M6; '00 Guild JF30-12, '01 Martin 00-15, '16 Martin 000-17, '07 Parkwood PW510, Epiphone Biscuit resonator, Merlin Dulcimer, and various electric guitars, basses....
Old 04-08-2019, 11:41 AM

The previous 3 answers are right on. Keep what you have. Come back to it at a time of your choosing.