The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 04-02-2019, 07:25 AM

Default Emerald X20 - is it beautiful

Hello all,
As I contemplate my first Emerald purchase, I've been getting comments about how ugly they are. I want to get a black one, which has a Darth Vader meets Lord of the Rings look about it. As a gigging musician, I don't want to turn people off by what I'm playing since I already don't fit the mold of a singer-songwriter. Any thoughts?
Thank you.
2019 Emerald X20ele
2020 Martin D-15M
2002 Taylor 714
2021 Iris DF
2005 Breedlove Revival OM M

https://www.youtube.com/@revelrove

Last edited by highvibrational; 04-03-2019 at 09:08 AM.
Old 04-02-2019, 07:42 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by highvibrational View Post
Hello all,
As I contemplate my first Emerald purchase, I've been getting comments about how ugly they are. As a gigging musician, I don't want to turn people off by what I'm playing since I already don't fit the mold of a singer-songwriter. Any thoughts?
Thank you.
What a curious question. Surely the only thing that matters is what *you* think.
Cordoba Stage

Some of my tunes: https://youtube.com/user/eatswodo
Old 04-02-2019, 07:57 AM
Charter Member

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I've never heard of a musician who was concerned about the looks of his guitar being offensive to his audience...
Martin D18 Ambertone
Martin 000-15sm
Old 04-02-2019, 08:00 AM
Charter Member

I have never had a negative comment from anyone about my Emeralds - quite the opposite in fact. I've had other guitar players ask about it, occasionally a question about "What kind of guitar is that?", but most non-players don't really pay much attention to what I'm playing. When someone does say something about the Emeralds, it is generally about how good it sounds or how "unique" it looks.