The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Archtops

Old 03-06-2019, 11:01 AM

Default Unplugged Archtop Electric Acoustic Tonal Qualities

I was going to ask these questions on a similar thread but did not want to hi-jack it.

Have you found that the tonal qualities of a unplugged archtop electric acoustic are not as good as a natural archtop acoustic? I'm referring to those that were manufactured as electrics, not after-market equipped.

I have limited experience with this issue but I have found this to be true. I assume this is based on the intended design of an electric to be plugged in.

I'm looking for an acoustic but have passed on some really nice electrics based on my theory.

Any specific manufacturers and models that this does not apply to? I'm sure there are some.
Old 03-06-2019, 11:23 AM

Absolutely.

Generally speaking, if you see a pickup cut into the top, like a set humbucker--you're looking at what is intended to be an electric guitar.

Which is not saying some of these guitars might not have a pleasant acoustic voice, because they might...but generally speaking, set pickup=electric.

The "floating pickup" is the general way archtop makers have tried to preserve the acoustic voice but make the guitar "amplifiable." (that's not a word, is it?) If you see a solid carved guitar with a floating pickup, you can be pretty sure some thought was put into how the guitar sounds unplugged.

Keep in mind, the amplified tone of an archtop is often very different from the acoustic voice--another variable!