The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-10-2022, 08:29 AM

Default fake nails

Hi guys ; two part question; what is the best way to get those fake nails off? also , how long do you think they will stay on? Just don't want one coming off during a gig. Thanks.
Old 08-10-2022, 08:42 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyesore View Post
Hi guys ; two part question; what is the best way to get those fake nails off? also , how long do you think they will stay on? Just don't want one coming off during a gig. Thanks.
Hi eyesore
Fake nails are the reason I'm still an all-flesh with hint of nails guy.

I've had to work with my hands (as in do my occupations) and glued on nails were not an option.

Starting at age 15 I started playing all-flesh and have continued it now till age 74yrs. It's a different 'sound' and attack, but both can be effective.

Baby #1.1
Baby #1.2
Baby #02
Baby #03
Baby #04
Baby #05

Larry's songs...

…Just because you've argued someone into silence doesn't mean you have convinced them…
Old 08-10-2022, 09:47 AM

Lots of prior posts here on AGF about fake nails. I think the real question is how long until you get an infection or other problem with your natural nails.

Nevertheless, if you're insistent on doing it here's the way to get them off (acetone): https://www.wikihow.com/Remove-Acrylic-Nails
Old 08-10-2022, 10:57 AM
Guitar Gourmet

Quote:
Originally Posted by 619TF View Post
I think the real question is how long until you get an infection or other problem with your natural nails.
I've had acrylic nails applied for over twenty-five years. In that time I've had exactly ONE infection in ONE nail.

Bob

THE MUSICIAN'S ROOM (my website)
Old 08-10-2022, 11:11 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Womack View Post