The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-30-2015, 02:14 PM
Charter Member

Default Sitting position

Hi guys. I've been playing for around 8 years now, and recently have been revisiting sitting and guitar position. Originally i did take some classical lessons when younger, though over recent years, I've been putting the guitar on the right leg. However, I'm now questioning that approach. I find that I'm able to strike the strings at more of a 90 degree angle and can get good tone out of the guitar with the guitar on the left leg, more classical style. I am trying a de oro guitar support at the moment, to limit the stress this seems to put on my spine and I am unsure whether this aid will work for me.

http://www.deoromusic.com/deoromusic...r_Support.html

I noticed on a video or two indicate that Pierre Bensusan uses some sort of belt that attached to his guitar allowing him to move the neck and body of the guitar forward and back to alter tone,without worrying about the guitar falling from his knee. Has anyone seen how he does this or what he uses. I'm wondering what other stability it provides and if or where a strap button has been added to the back of his Lowden.

I am also trying a basic guitar strap as an alternative, though I'm wondering if a strap button near the lower part of the neck makes sense, if use of a strap works for me, as I've seen some guitars with buttons placed in that region of the guitar.

This is about sitting in a position that is comfortable for the spine, and also finding comfort in how I strike the strings to get desired tone.

Your thoughts and shared experiences are welcome.

best,

Stuart
Old 12-30-2015, 05:44 PM

Default Sitting position

Stuart,