The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-17-2015, 06:28 PM

Default 30 minute guitar lessons?

So I've been playing on, and off now for around 10 years, or so. And recently I've decided to take lessons, because I haven't been progressing at the rate that I would like to. My amazing Girlfriend got me a month's worth of lessons for my birthday, and my first one is this coming monday. I'm really excited to finally be getting some formal instruction, but what should I expect? can they really cram anything of value into 30 min sessions?
Old 04-17-2015, 06:47 PM

Absolutely without question!!!!!
Old 04-17-2015, 06:56 PM

Yes. Especially since you've already been playing for a while. You're not starting from scratch. You just need a little direction.
Derailer (My go-to travel guitar)
Glibson Super Duper Jumbo Deluxe Extreme (with birds on it)
Martino Cinco De Mayo (First Edition)
Louden Silent Guitar
Lowvation 12 String Salad Bowl
Albatross Merrytime with Red Tide Sunburst

http://portraitsinpencil.tumblr.com/

https://www.youtube.com/user/TheDerrickRyan
Old 04-17-2015, 06:59 PM

Just great. Be on time, be in tune, and learn all you can.

Jeff
Flammang RS35, Flammang el35, SC 000 12 Fret ss, SC H13, SC PJ, Rockbridge 00, Eastman 810ce, Recording King RPH 03, Martin LX (on loan), Martin 0018vs (given to Godson), Lowden F388c (traded), SC OM (traded), Martin OM28v (traded), Martin 00017s (sold), Bourgeois Martin Simpson Slope D 12 fret (sold), Larrivee Parlor (traded), Larrivee L05MT (sold), Gibson LG1 (sold), Seagull Folk (traded)
Old 04-17-2015, 07:03 PM
Charter Member

Yes absolutely! If... you practice what your teacher tells you to.

I used to be terrible about actually practicing what I was supposed to and therefore didn't get as much out of my lessons as I now know that I could have.

-Mike
Old 04-17-2015, 07:35 PM
Eric Skye