The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-08-2019, 06:57 PM

Default Holding the Acoustic Guitar with a strap, in the sitting position.

Hi, I'm a beginner, just starting out. I have a Yamaha FG820 that I got from Amazon to learn from. This guitar only had a strap button on the bottom of the body, and I didn't want to mess with the string method for the other end. So, I've installed a second strap button by the crook of the neck, as instructed by many videos. I'veppositioned the guitar more like a classical style with the neck facing up and the bottom tuning key, around face level.
When holding the guitar like this, it feels much better. However, I not sure if I'm sitting correctly or if I have the strap adjusted too high / or too low. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Old 06-08-2019, 07:03 PM

I'm far from an expert but if it feels comfortable to you then you are on the right track. A lot of things will change as you learn but comfort will keep you playing.
2014 Yamaha LS16
2020 Squier CV 50's Telecaster
2022 Yamaha FG3
Old 06-08-2019, 07:12 PM
Charter Member

I often use a strap when sitting, especially if I'm surfing the internet in-between bouts of playing. The strap helps keep the guitar from sliding off my lap when typing.
Ovation Custom Legend LX
Guild F-212XL STD
Huss & Dalton TD-R
Taylor 717e
Taylor 618e
Taylor 614ce
Larrivee D-50M/HiFi
Larrivee D-40R Blue Grass Special/HiFi
Larrivee D-40R Sunburst
Larrivee C-03R TE/Trance M-VT Phantom
RainSong BI-DR1000N2
Emerald X20
Yamaha FGX5
Republic Duolian/Schatten NR-2
Old 06-08-2019, 07:13 PM
Charter Member

I am not a guitar fitting expert but I will chime in.
Whatever lets your fretting hand elbow feel neutral, at ease, is what I try for.
I would adjust the strap incrementally while sitting so it doesn't take all the weight of the guitar and allows your thigh to hold some of the weight as well.