The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-22-2022, 10:33 AM

Default buffing

I'm sure this has been covered exhaustively but I can't find what I am looking for. I am refinishing the back of a guitar and I'm definitely an amateur. I've decided to do this as getting it professionally repaired was not cost effective (put me into the range of being able to buy one undamaged). It's been fun and I've gathered an education by scouring the posts here (Thanks) and watching lots of videos. Now to my question. I'm just getting into the wet sanding stage and looking ahead to the buffing stage. I ordered polishing compounds from Stewmac and got Medium, Fine and Swirl Remover. Somehow, I was expecting Course, Med and Fine. I'm thinking I'll just do the Med and Fine. Should I follow with an iteration of Swirl Remover? So far, I'm happy with my results. It won't be perfect but definitely worth the effort. I'll post some before and after pics when I'm done.
Old 07-22-2022, 11:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by wblock77 View Post