The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 08-31-2018, 02:53 AM

Post Lullaby suggestions?

I have a confession to make; I'm not a guitar player, I'm a writer. My dad's a guitar player, however, and my favorite thing as a child was listening to him sing and play guitar.

Right now I'm writing a character who does play guitar, He's the new father of a baby boy, and the setting is late 1990's early 2000's, and I need suggestions. Something he could play to help his son get to sleep, something that could become to him and his son what "the cat came back" became to my dad and me. I'd use "the Cat Came back", but it's a little too lively for an infant. I need good lullabies. I tried asking my dad, but we got distracted by explaining what "the cat came back" was to our tenant.

If this helps at all, the character in question is gay, soft-spoken, and in a band, the child is his via surrogacy.
Old 08-31-2018, 06:16 AM

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...riDAJ0VyY_PwUQ
Old 08-31-2018, 06:20 AM

~Dave
~Music self-played is happiness self-made
Old 08-31-2018, 08:54 AM

The Beatles Goodnight

https://vimeo.com/224431725

Last edited by TominNJ; 08-31-2018 at 09:03 AM.
Old 08-31-2018, 09:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buggycas View Post
Right now I'm writing a character who does play guitar, He's the new father of a baby boy...
Are you looking for an existing song that you want to include in your... what ever it is? Is it a film, a stage play, a book, or...? Does it have to be in the Public Domain?

Couch Standards
Old 09-01-2018, 04:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scootch View Post
My wife used to sing this to our kids when they were tiny. I was never down with the message. "Your parents will throw money at problem after problem and it'll never end. You'll wind up broke but you'll still have your looks."

Couch Standards
Old 09-02-2018, 06:55 AM