The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-16-2009, 03:49 PM

Default Learning scales

I'm very new at learning the guitar. I want to learn fingerstyle...I worship Tommy Emmanuel, Pete Huttlinger, Stephen Bennett, and others.

I recently started taking guitar lessons. My instructor (who studied with Stephen Bennett and is friends with him) wants me to learn to play scales, starting with G (I won't go into my traumas with the G chord here!)

I haven't been able to find aywhere online that has the scale fingerings. I have a Pete Huttlinger DVD but he goes so fast that I can't tell which finger to use when. Lol. Any good websites out there? Youtube wouldn't work for me because I live in a rural area with dial up. I can read TAB pretty well and some standard notation. Thanks for any links, advice, etc!
Old 07-16-2009, 04:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaylorGirl2008 View Post
I'm very new at learning the guitar. I want to learn fingerstyle...I worship Tommy Emmanuel, Pete Huttlinger, Stephen Bennett, and others.

I recently started taking guitar lessons. My instructor (who studied with Stephen Bennett and is friends with him) wants me to learn to play scales, starting with G (I won't go into my traumas with the G chord here!)

I haven't been able to find aywhere online that has the scale fingerings. I have a Pete Huttlinger DVD but he goes so fast that I can't tell which finger to use when. Lol. Any good websites out there? Youtube wouldn't work for me because I live in a rural area with dial up. I can read TAB pretty well and some standard notation. Thanks for any links, advice, etc!
OK I'm taking you at face value - you want to play scales - not chords.
Go here and print this off.
http://www.cyberfret.com/scales/basic/print.html