The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-01-2020, 08:12 AM

Default Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 + sennheiser 609 e silver awful results muffled and boomy

Hi all you crazy cats n' kittens.

tldr; please check gear list below, and simply recommend: YES This gear should give good results, or NO this is the wrong gear, use XYZ instead.

I'm a noob. I want to start recording. I walk into GC, and explain what I want to do: Sit on a stool, and record acoustic guitar faithfully (what you hear is what you get), from a single xlr mic.

I learned that I need 3 things.
1. A Microphone to capture the analog sound coming from my acoustic guitar.
2. An Audio Interface to plug that XLR cable from Mic, to receive and conver the analog signal to digital, to pass to a computer (in my case) for recording.
3. Studio monitor: Speaker system that allows you to hear your recording live real time while you record, so that you can monitor the level of the audio and the general sound.

I set it all up. Finally got it all working (needed to get a correct Focusrite Audio Interface Firmware, before which I couldn't record).

Now it works, but the sound is god awful. I learned by trial and error, that you have to raise the GAIN to basically 100% to even hear anything on the recording, and when I record the sound is just a wall of boom. I'm slightly exaggerating, but if my Android Pixel4 audio recording is a 1 out of 10, then this $500+ setup is a 2/10.

The guitar sounds far away, even though I put the mic as close to me as possible. I tried to move the mic back 10", 12" 16" 2 feet, 3 feet, it doesn't ever sound good. Just boomy and as I move away, 'boomy but far away' sounding.

I see that this mic seems to do wonders for Guitar Amp recording. Is this just the wrong tool?
PS They gave me one of these because they didn't have a Shure sm57 (their original recommendation).

Gear below: