The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-19-2021, 07:55 AM

Default Vintage Gibson Southern Jumbo

Seeking some wisdom. I found an old Gibson guitar for sale locally. She said it's a 1948 Gibson Flat Top. Serial #Y5230. From the looking I've done I think it's a 1953 Gibson Southern Jumbo based on the fretboard inlays. Tuners look silver, I'm assuming they were replaced??? She said the condition is 'fair' and 'playable'. I think it's a wife selling her late husbands guitar as she doesn't seem to know much about it. She is asking $3,000 for it.

I'm a novice when it comes to old guitars. Does $3,000 sound about right if it's in reasonable condition? Anything specific I should be looking for with this guitar.

I'd post pictures but I can't figure out how to on here...

I'm planning to go take a look at it later today. Just trying to do a little homework ahead of time. Thanks for any help
Old 01-19-2021, 08:16 AM
Charter Member

I'm not an expert on vintage guitars, but from what I have seen $3K would be a very good price for a 1948 Southern Jumbo depending on condition. Valuation for vintage instruments is heavily reliant on condition and originality.

If you are looking for a player at $3K I would focus on the following:

Is the top relatively flat?

How does the neck look? Twisting, warping, etc. can be essentially impossible to repair on some older guitars.

Are there any cracks? Have they been repaired? I would expect cracks on a 1948 SJ, particularly at this price. If they have been well repaired that wouldn't deter me.

If those things check out and you like the sound, I'd probably snatch it up for $3K and not worry about non-original tuners. If you were paying closer to top dollar you would want to look for things like overspray, finish originality, etc.