The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 08-31-2021, 11:26 AM

Default Composite guitars by individual builders

Are carbon fiber and/or composite guitars being built by individual makers? Do you know of any? I'm a builder who likes to experiment with different materials, but I'm really just a hobbyist. I did build a double topped dulcimer once using Nomex and a vacuum press and have used carbon fiber neck reinforcements on mandolins. I even have a carbon fiber fingerboard on one of my fiddles. I understand that the tooling for having a guitar mould would be prohibitively expensive for someone like me, but I have to wonder if there aren't alternative approaches that are less expensive. Thanks for any info or leads you might provide!
Old 08-31-2021, 02:37 PM
Guest 928

Woody;

I can't be specific, but yes, there are a number of individuals who have produced CF guitars and in ways that did not cost a fortune in molds. Some specific examples were noted in the old McNichol Carbon Fiber Guitar Forum. I don't know if that forum is still accessible but there are people on this forum who were on that forum and may remember some specific examples.
Old 09-01-2021, 12:32 AM

There was a guy here in Australia that made a few archtops from CF - it was quite a while ago and can't find anything now. So not much help, sorry, other than it has been done...
Herrmann Weissenborn
Recording King RP-10
Recording King RG-35-SN Lapsteel
Maton 425 12-string
ESP 400 series telecaster
Eastman T485
Deering Americana Banjo
My Youtube
Old 09-01-2021, 12:53 PM