The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 01-06-2019, 03:36 PM

Default A Question For Pilots....

...or anyone who has knowledge on this topic. I live pretty close to a general aviation airport and consequently I see a lot of Leer jets coming and going all day. As I was sitting out in my backyard earlier today murdering empty beer cans with my trusty CO2 powered Colt Single Action Army pellet gun, I was thinking to myself as this awesome Leer jet took off, in an emergency, say like both pilot and co-pilot of a commercial airliner became incapacitated for whatever reason, could a Leer jet pilot take the controls of maybe a 737 and take it down from altitude for a safe landing, or does that require a skill set above and beyond that of a Leer jet pilot? One wonders. 🤔
Old 01-06-2019, 03:43 PM

I'm only a private pilot, but my son is working toward an airline pilot career, so I follow the profession, a bit.

Corporate jets and airliners require different "type ratings," but same licenses. Given time to find the correct controls and information for the particular airport, I suspect there would be a very high likelihood of a painless landing, for all.
Old 01-06-2019, 03:47 PM

I’m no expert and can’t really answer your question but I did a ton of research on emergency situations and disasters for my recent first flight and dealing with my fear of flying.

I think in your scenario, it becomes more about knowledge of each plane’s computer systems than the pilot’s physical ability to fly. I don’t know how Lear Jets compare with Boeings or Airbuses but I think a 737 or Lear jet pilot would have a lot of trouble landing something like an A320 since it’s fly by wire and so technologically advanced. Maybe an A320 or Lear jet pilot would have a chance to land a 737 since it isn’t quite as computerized as the A320 but I’d think it would still be difficult deciphering the computer systems and controls.