The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-25-2016, 09:15 AM

Default Neck reset on a Korean Sigma DM-3

I have a Sigma dread that I use for a camp / travel guitar that is in need of a neck reset. The guitar is in decent shape but really has minimal value. I have been playing for about a half century and a professional woodworker for 30+ yrs. I have been doing my own repairs for a few years and have been studying and tooling up to attempt my first neck reset for a while. I read on the web somewhere that some of the Asian guitars used epoxy or something similar in constructing some of their guitars. Are there any luthiers that can advise me on whether this guitar would be a candidate for a novice reset attempt. I don't want to get into it and find that I can't get the neck off ( I can always use it to play bottleneck).
Thanks in advance for any advice and input. Jim in Austin

edit: Maybe my question wasn't clear. Anybody out there know if Sigmas are assembled with Titebond or something similar? I want to take the neck loose. Thanks

Last edited by Lakesnake; 07-25-2016 at 01:06 PM.
Old 07-25-2016, 02:07 PM
Charter Member