The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-06-2016, 12:32 PM

Default sanding

I am a hobby builder and working on my 10th instrument. I have finished some with nitro and a couple with EnduroVar. With either finish I can get a good buildup, let cure 2-3 weeks, then level and sand up to 2000 grit, then buff with medium and fine compounds and get a very slick mirror finish, but if I hold it to a good light and look at a sharp angle, I see what looks like thousands of tiny hairline scratches. Before finishing I sand up to 220 grit, always with the grain and with some type of sanding block when I can. I usually sand between coats with 320-400 grit. I'm almost ready to start spraying this latest instrument and I sure could use some help here. Anyone got any idea how I can figure this out? Thanks, Danny Gray
Old 07-06-2016, 12:37 PM

First, you need to identify whether the scratches are in the wood or in the finish. Look carefully under bright light. You should be able to see at what level the scratches exist, under the finish, or on the surface of the finish. A different remedy depending on what is scratched.
Old 07-06-2016, 01:05 PM

The kind of scratches you describe are likely created when you sand your topcoats. What grit do you begin with, and what comes between that and 2000? What brand and type of sandpaper?

If it's any comfort, eliminating those fine scratches is difficult. It is mainly about using good abrasives, keeping the work very clean as you sand, changing the paper frequently, and sanding very thoroughly with each grit. But some products work better than others.
Old 07-06-2016, 01:32 PM