The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 03-08-2019, 12:15 AM

Default What neck joint for 1st time builder?

What kind of neck joint did you use for your first build? By this point in my life, I have recognized that I am stubborn and the thought of a dovetail is really enticing to go after however I have heard that this is a really tough joint. I would love to do it but I have never built a guitar or completed a dovetail. Looking for some advice and what you guys did for your first builds.
Old 03-08-2019, 02:10 AM

Default Spanish heel...

I’ve been studying guitar-making for the last 3 years and the college tends to use the traditional classical guitar ‘solera’ method for both nylon and steel-string instruments. As with everything there are pros and cons.

The upsides are that it is relatively easy to ensure the neck geometry is good and the neck being integrated into the body as you build does make for a strong structure.

The downsides are that it is very difficult to reset the neck down the line if the geometry becomes a problem. The only viable ways being to add material under the fingerboard or to cut of the neck and rejoin with an alternative joint.

After looking at a variety of neck joints I’m rapidly coming to the conclusion that the best method is a bolt-on neck where both the heel and fingerboard are bolted to the main body of the guitar. For me the Spanish heel and dovetail methods are non-optimal although I’m sure many more experienced makers may disagree. The dovetail joint seems like a fudge to me: tricky to execute well and a pain to reset if needed.

I’m interested to hear opinions from some of the professional makers on this forum.

Last edited by nikpearson; 03-09-2019 at 03:40 PM.
Old 03-08-2019, 02:21 AM

Butt joint.
Maton Messiah
Taylor 814CE
Old 03-08-2019, 12:19 PM