The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 08-09-2020, 11:25 AM
Charter Member

Default Anyone here a ham radio operator?

I've always been curious about ham radio but never had the time. I have the time now and it might be useful during emergency situations to know how to do it, when usual lines of communication go down.

Anyone here know about ham radio and/or where to go to learn more about it?
Old 08-09-2020, 06:16 PM
Charter Member

Actually I was a ham radio operator (WA2IFV) in my early teens back in the late 60's. Back then we had to know morse code as well as learn a good deal of electronic theory to get a license.

It was a blast at 13 years old to reach out to people from all over the world in the middle of the night while my parents were sleeping. We had conversations in morse code and SSB voice (Single Side Band). We exchanged "QSL" cards - postcards with our call letters. Part of the fun of the hobby was collecting these QSL cards from as many places in the world as we could, and putting them up on the wall.

I will never forget putting a "quad" ham radio antenna (a huge rectangular framed metal thing) on top of a radio tower that my father had installed on top of our house. He called the local fire department and they brought over a fire-truck with a ladder to help me put it up. The installation went ok but as soon as they left, a wind came and blew the antenna down :-(. Ahhh memories.

At about age 16 I ditched the ham radio, put leopard wallpaper on the walls in my bedroom, put up black lights and the requisite velvet based posters, began to blast the Doors and Iron Butterfly on my KLH stereo and found girls. I was never the same....

But it was a lot of fun and I've been thinking about doing it again as well. Try this site for more up to date information... http://www.arrl.org/

Martin Custom Shop 000-28 Authentic Aged 1937
Fairbanks F20
Rainsong CO-OM1100NST
Martin 2008 000-18 Golden Era