The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-20-2010, 07:09 AM

Default Schertler DYN-G extension advice needed

Hi,
I'm trying to figure out the best way to extend the cable on my DYN-G and to adapt it to go to the standard phono plug on my amp. (I'm using the XLR for my vocal mic). I am new to performing amped, so am still trying to get my head around how this should work.

Would adapting the XLR cable on the DYN to Standard phono plug hurt sound quality or decrease volume? Are there other things folks have tried, or is there a better way to do this with the vocal mic and DYN that I am just not getting? Thanks.
Old 03-21-2010, 12:19 AM

Depends as much on the amp and the particulars of those 2 channels as anything special about the DYN. I've done it both ways (1/4" and XLR) into a Schertler David, a Bose T1; and Baggs PADI (that only takes 1/4" input).

Generally speaking, the DYN runs a relatively hot signal that is closer to a dynamic mic than standard guitar pups. All things being equal I'd keep it XLR just as you would a mic, but it can handle 1/4". On the David it seems to sound better into the XLR input but then that has a setting designed specifically for the DYN. Into the T1 it sounds much the same either way.

It's rare to run into other DYN users here. What's been your overall experience with it?

R.Taylor Style 1 Cocobolo/Engelmann; Martin: OM-28M Rosanne Cash (Adi/Madrose); Custom Shop OMC-21 Juber (Gautemalen/Moon Spruce); CS 000-28 (Italian Alpine/Madrose); Santa Cruz OM Custom (Brazilian/German Spruce); Kevin Ryan Mission GC Brazilian/European Spruce
Old 03-21-2010, 03:36 AM