The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 04-02-2024, 08:21 PM

Default Lauro's Maria Carolina

I think I can learn to play it.
It sounded impossibly complicated the few dozen times I heard John Williams play it.
But I looked at the score, started working on it, and I think I can do it.

I've never really studied classical guitar. I'm self-taught in fingerstyle, and don't know that many songs.

I still think I can do this.

Am I stupid?

Or am I going to be able to "play" it without having even 1% of the impressiveness of John Williams?

I mean, I'm not John Williams, I *know* I won't come close to his level of musicality and expressiveness.

But is it hubris to think I can learn to play it at the same tempo?
Rainsong Flamenco Nylon (SN#120)
Composite Acoustics 5iM-CE (GXi)
Cordoba Stage
Enya NexG 2, Mountain Guitar, Luna Tribal
Old 04-02-2024, 08:44 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainfertilizer View Post
Am I stupid?
I don't know. Let us know after you have worked on it for a while.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 04-03-2024, 04:15 AM

All I can say is *first* analyze it musically. I suspect it is, like other of Lauro's waltzes, marked 3/4-6/8. So important in understanding how each measure is to be played.

Then take a bite at a time. A few measures, analyze your finger movements and practice those shifts. Work it up at glacial speed. Eat an elephant one bite at a time.

I didn't know this piece, found a rendition by Goran Krivokapic. What a player!
Old 04-03-2024, 04:44 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by evanpyle View Post
All I can say is *first* analyze it musically. I suspect it is, like other of Lauro's waltzes, marked 3/4-6/8. So important in understanding how each measure is to be played.