The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 08-26-2019, 06:25 AM

Default Gettin my first lap guitar

hi folks, I am smitten by the sounds of a lap guitar. I am a total novice to guitar, took piano lessons more than 50 years ago.... so, I love the sound of the lap king rodeo, but that price..... so, folks I would love your opinions on a similar sounding lap guitar. All suggestions welcome.
Got to see Cindy Cashdollar last night!! Wowzer!
Thanks to all who post
Old 08-26-2019, 06:43 AM
Charter Member

Hi, what kind of "lap" guitar?

Weissenborn style, or Resonator style?

More details ! (and pics!)
Old 08-26-2019, 08:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PickPeg View Post
hi folks, I am smitten by the sounds of a lap guitar. I am a total novice to guitar, took piano lessons more than 50 years ago.... so, I love the sound of the lap king rodeo, but that price..... so, folks I would love your opinions on a similar sounding lap guitar. All suggestions welcome.
Got to see Cindy Cashdollar last night!! Wowzer!
Thanks to all who post
Congratulations!

I used to build custom laps and I posted some basic lap steel info and building plans if you happen to be interested in making your own.

http://web.archive.org/web/201604062...com/page5.html
Old 08-26-2019, 10:54 AM

Hi PickPeg

I love the sound of the lap Steel Guitar but would recommend you take lessons. Also look up the Steel Guitar forum. Its a great resource. Cindy Cashdollar has 2 DVDs teaching lap steel on Home Spun Tapes.

You need to decide what tuning you prefer and how many strings, 6 or 8?

I have a Recording King RG-35 I could sell you. Please PM me if interested.

Best,

Luke
Old 08-28-2019, 05:05 PM

Afternoon Pickpeg. Welcome to the Monkeyhouse.