The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-22-2018, 03:45 PM

Default Luna Guitars?

Is this a good brand? Do they make solid guitars? Some of their models look pretty cool, especially those acoustics with the desert scenes on them. I've never even seen any in a store I've only ever seen their ukes. Does anyone have any experience with Luna?
Old 04-22-2018, 03:51 PM
Charter Member

They are owned by Dean guitars. They are an economy brand. Apparently they have some OK beginner level guitars. Mostly decorated stuff.

Taylor GC7, GA3-12, SB2-C, SB2-Cp...... Ibanez AVC-11MHx , AC-240
Old 04-22-2018, 05:14 PM

Before I start let me share a story. Perhaps two.

I have been playing guitar for almost 50 years. Have been married for just over 40. Since I am a minister my wife and I have been singing together for those 40 years. During most of that time my wife never had any interest in going into a guitar store. About six years ago we walk into a guitar store and she walks around and then shows me a Luna guitar. It is a Luna Oasis Henna with cedar top with art work on the top and the back. She looks at me and says, "am I to old to learn t play guitar?" (Then mid 50's years old) I said, "No - Why?" She says, "that guitar is so pretty I am going to learn to play so I can buy it." I mistakenly said to her, "People don't usually buy a guitar for how it looks but for how it sounds."

Moving along . . . she learned to play and bought the guitar. Sounds and plays great.