The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 03-22-2018, 05:24 PM

Default Recommend me an electric guitar

I've never had any spending money due to chronic illness, so I just use whatever instruments are available. Due to that, I've been playing a Strat for 15 years now!

Fortunately I've made some recent improvements and have a little more income to work with now. I still like playing a Strat, but I'd like more frets to work with. Too often while playing classic rock solos, I'll have to play certain parts an octave lower because there aren't enough frets.

Although I have a little money to play with now, I don't want to spend too much. Which electric guitar(s) would you recommend to someone like me?
Old 03-22-2018, 05:26 PM
Charter Member

A Gibson SG will give you the most room to work with. https://reverb.com/p/gibson-sg-speci...lectric-guitar Or an Epiphone SG. https://reverb.com/item/6922070-epip...ntage-sunburst
Old 03-22-2018, 05:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmountain View Post
A Gibson SG will give you the most room to work with. Or an Epiphone SG.
I'm a big Sabbath fan... great answer!
Old 03-22-2018, 06:10 PM
Guitar Gourmet

I've posted these before. I've got a couple of pages on my website that address electric guitar choice without shoving choices down your throat. They are HERE and HERE.

Bob

THE MUSICIAN'S ROOM (my website)
Old 03-22-2018, 07:47 PM

Quote:
A Gibson SG will give you the most room to work with. https://reverb.com/p/gibson-sg-speci...lectric-guitar Or an Epiphone SG. https://reverb.com/item/6922070-epip...ntage-sunburst
They give great access to the frets, but not more of them (well, maybe one more if the Strat has 21 vs 22.)

For more (24) frets, A PRS SE 24-fret model (like a Custom 24) might be a good choice.
Old 03-22-2018, 08:27 PM

Quote:
A Gibson SG will give you the most room to work with...