The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-07-2018, 11:59 AM
Charter Member

Default Playing slow all the time is killing my fingers

I can't do it all the time. I've been playing slow and easy tempo stuff for at least 2 months now and I can feel the rust setting in. Even if it doesn't sound as good, playing faster things is good for you (at least for me. Ymmv)

Youtube! Please subscribe!

My SoundCloud page

Avalon L-320C, Guild D-120, Martin D-16GT, McIlroy A20, Pellerin SJ CW

Cordobas - C5, Fusion 12 Orchestra, C12, Stage Traditional

Alvarez AP66SB, Seagull Folk

Aria {Johann Logy}:
Old 07-07-2018, 06:24 PM

I like an up-tempo pace most of the time. Slow stuff doesn't hold my interest as a player.

It would seem that once you've achieved a certain ability to hold a quicker meter, and the challenge to move past that beckons, slower stuff almost becomes counter-productive.
Old 07-07-2018, 09:52 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitar View Post
I like an up-tempo pace most of the time. Slow stuff doesn't hold my interest as a player.

It would seem that once you've achieved a certain ability to hold a quicker meter, and the challenge to move past that beckons, slower stuff almost becomes counter-productive.
I'm ok with slower stuff, but I have to mix it up a bit to keep it fresh I guess.

Youtube! Please subscribe!

My SoundCloud page

Avalon L-320C, Guild D-120, Martin D-16GT, McIlroy A20, Pellerin SJ CW

Cordobas - C5, Fusion 12 Orchestra, C12, Stage Traditional

Alvarez AP66SB, Seagull Folk

Aria {Johann Logy}:
Old 07-08-2018, 07:02 AM

Most of the time I'm playing I'm not covering published music.