The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 01-25-2018, 03:08 PM

Default Uke tuning question

I am a ukulele newbie, and I have a simple question:

If you have a tenor uke tuned to high G, and you have a piece of uke music written for low G tuning, is there any reason you can't just play it in high G with the same fingering? Will it not sound right?
Old 01-25-2018, 05:58 PM

It will sound different but not necessarily wrong.

Kind of depends on the arrangement. If the piece is written to emphasize a progression from low notes on the low G to higher notes on the other strings, that would be lost with the high G tuning.

One of the reasons why many (most?) ukulele players have (at least) two ukes, one for a high tuning one for a low.
Old 01-25-2018, 06:02 PM

Maybe. It depends. For example, if you were playing single note melodies, and had to play a note on that high G string, it might not sound right. But if you were strumming a chord, it might not make a difference.
Old 01-26-2018, 08:51 AM

Thanks, that makes sense.

I find it interesting that a lot of the ukulele books on Amazon and elsewhere don't indicate in their description whether they are for high G or low G. I guess the usual default is high G, but that appears to not always be the case and it would be nice if they just told you.
Old 01-26-2018, 10:27 AM

Are the books for chords or for TAB/standard notation? If TAB and standard, if they have a few sample pages scanned, you might be able to tell by comparing the two. High G is pretty standard, it seems, in many places. But apparently low G is really popular in Hawaii....or at least according to the luthier who built a uke I have.
1986 Charvel Model 3A electric

2001 Fender Jazz standard bass
1935 A-00 Gibson mandolin
1815 JG Hamm violin
Kelii soprano ukulele
Old 01-26-2018, 12:09 PM