The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 05-28-2023, 08:55 AM
Charter Member

Default Spohn OM Build (short scale - long post) - Final Images - 11.28.23 post

I am happy to finally count myself among the expectant owners and not just the readers of this sub-forum. Even now, my guitar is taking shape in the workshop of Max Spohn, in the Bavarian town of Rothenburg, Germany. Should you wish to skip the broccoli and eat dessert, feel free to scroll down to BUILD.

BACK STORY: This is my first build. While it may seem a bit grim, at 67, it may be my only. A small step for some here, but after only four years with a guitar in my lap, a giant leap for me. As a lifelong classical/jazz clarinetist and saxophonist, I first picked up a guitar in 2019 - my “Pandemic Pal.” I admit, it was never on my radar. I figured my retirement instrument would be a piano so I could play Gershwin. Funny how life unfolds unpredictably. Yet again.