The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 09-30-2007, 12:03 PM

Default Is this normal or am i just a musician

Hi guys,

I am still new here but love all the threads. My question is this, I have been playing for 2 1/2 decades now (i am now 40) and my fovorite thing is playing acoustic covers. I never thought of myself as a great vocalist (i am very insecure as a musician) but i am a very strong guitar player. I have been with my current band for about 6 months now , we do mostly acoustic rock as a trio , guitar, drums and female vocalist. We are probably going to add a bass in the next few weeks.

When I am home alone practicing I usually sing and I am fine with it because there is nobody to judge. Recently my singer overheard me playing with the tune "Cats in the Cradel" and really was trying to push me to do it live wich is really a stretch for me to go and sing in front of a baroom of people. When I her my own voice coming back at me it just does not sound good to me. I have to admit I am very insecure in this way, as childish as it may seem but my wife agrees that I sound good on alot of the songs I do at home and I should try them live.

So Friday nite we did a live show and toward the end of the nite she (My vocalist) convinced me to do a few tune and she would back me up on the chorus. The crowd was thin and i figured I would try it. At the end of the nite I had some freinds tell me that I should be doing songs on my own and were stunned that i sounded so good using words like awsome and amazing.

I am not at all the type of person who lets things like that give me an ego or give me a big head, I am just the opposite. To me I did not at all sound amazing or awesome I just heard that voice coming back at me thinking that these people must think i am nuts to be singing next to the bands voacalist who truly is amazing.