The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 08-06-2020, 03:50 PM

Default CF vs Laminate

Did not want to hijack this thread https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/...66#post6437966 so I started this thread.

Driving back home I had 9 hours to ponder the following.

Does purchasing a CF (i.e. Emerald X7) really provide any benefit over my existing GS Mini Mahogany? Background: I travel between the oil fields of southeast New Mexico (currently 102 deg. F. and 15% humidity) to southwest Colorado that has a considerably different climate zone. I am also new to guitar and and happy with the GS Mini with the exception of trying to learn on a 1 11/16" nut. I would like to expand to a 1 3/4" until my fingers learn what to do. I play for myself and like a good sounding guitar. I am coming from playing the fiddle but have developed ear damage (Meniere's Disease) that makes playing the fiddle painful, even with earplugs.

I travel between SE New Mexico and SW Colorado and there are times when the guitar will sit in the car. Ok, during the summer at the job site I leave the car on all day with the A/C on (it's hot, dusty, windy, and having a place to cool down is essential).

That aside, we all know that the Taylor GS Mini has laminate sides and back that can tolerate more climate fluctuations than a solid wood guitar. But I am considering a CF as I would hate to see the GS Mini crack/delaminate etc... This got me to thinking, during the turn of the Century during the Wild Wild West days or even as recent as the 1960s and 1970s before CF technology, did guitars just crack as travelers threw their guitar in the back of their wagon (horse or VW)? As I said, I make the 9 hour drive between the oil fields and mountains of Colorado during all seasons and I have a time to let my mind drift.

In summary, I guess I should stop over analyzing and just by an Emerald X7.