The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 10-10-2005, 10:20 AM

Question Strumming Techniques

I am a beginner and was wondering if there are any good sites or videos that would explain different strumming techniques?

Possibly with videos playing popular songs? I am learning chords pretty fast but I have trouble keeping the rythm of a song because I get lost trying to keep up with the strumming.
Old 10-10-2005, 12:12 PM

There is only one way.

Use your own ear, listen to rhythms and with the TAB try to play the same. Eventually you'll develop a feel for the strumming patterns and you will learn different patterns and combine them with other chord progressions the more you learn.

So, just listen to the song you're trying to play and then strum with it.
Old 10-10-2005, 12:30 PM

being able to execute a decent rhythm strum was a huge obstacle for me, and it was resolved over such a long period of time that i really don't know what i did to get past it. whatever i did was probably the WRONG way. in retrospect, i would say that having a very even right-hand rhythm is key. you should aim for a consistent up/down motion with your strumming hand, and then focus your attention on where the accent goes. on the upstrokes, downstrokes, or a combination of the two. it also depends greatly on what kind of style you're going for. for example, the alternating bassline is very common in bluegrass and a bunch of other stuff, and something you're probably going to want to work on eventually. in fact, i would say bluegrass rhythm technique is a good thing to practice in general, as it requires being selective about what strings you hit with each strum, something that is important in just about all styles.
Old 10-10-2005, 12:48 PM