The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 09-20-2012, 08:08 AM

Unhappy Not happy with Taylor pickup

Hi everyone - it's my first post on the forum.
I've the proud owner of a Taylor 214ce, which I've owned for about 9 months. I'm a relative novice as I've only been playing a couple of years, but I've started to do some local open mics and I'm not happy with the amplified sound of my guitar. It's waaaay to treble-y and not a true representation of what is (to my ears) a lovely natural sound.
Am i stuck with this? I've read about preamps and soundhole pickups - should I be going down this route? I don't want to chop the guitar up but i don't mind modding it a bit.
Old 09-20-2012, 08:18 AM

Run it through a pre-amp / equalizer.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/acces...-guitar-preamp
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/acces...ra-acoustic-di
Old 09-20-2012, 08:22 AM
Charter Member

While not the Expression System, the pickups in the 200 series are still very capable of dialing in a good sound. Can you give us a little more information about what amp or sound system you are playing through or maybe about how you are setting your tone on the guitar?

Old 09-20-2012, 10:28 AM

I'm using an Ashton 50w valve amp
Old 09-20-2012, 10:29 AM

Oh, and I'm having to turn the treble right down on both the amp and the guitar
Old 09-20-2012, 10:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dane View Post
Thanks Dane, I'd probably rather do that than change pickups, which is where my local guitar store has been leading me
Old 09-20-2012, 02:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by slippersjoe View Post
I'm using an Ashton 50w valve amp