The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-17-2019, 09:01 AM

Default Varnish on guitars?

I apologize if this is an ignorant question, but I'm still relatively new to guitars and I can't quite make sense of this...

...Why doesn't varnish on guitars affect their sound? There's a beautiful Collings for sale here at the moment, and it's got a very pretty, shiny top. Folks have commented that the varnish looks good -- and they're right. Seems like a lot of the semi-new Gibsons also have a lot of varnish on them, too. I suppose the same would go for guitars that are painted, maybe.

But wouldn't adding weight to the top of the guitar decrease the amount the top vibrates--and theoretically affect the sound? I mean, if builders are hand-carving the bracing to get it as light and thin as possible, in an effort to get the top as much movement as possible, wouldn't adding paint/varnish to the top work against that?
Old 07-17-2019, 09:08 AM
Charter Member

Location: North of the Golden Gate, South of the Redwoods, East of the Pacific and West of the Sierras

Many more people will respond to this with more experience than me, but basically guitar makers are trying to balance protecting the wood while still keeping the top wood vibrating. Whether they are using French polish, nitro cellulose lacquer, poly or varnish, they will put on a layer, cure it, sand it to a thin layer and repeat the process a number of times to get a thin, hard protective coating. Varied materials will yield varied results. French polish, for example, is like a skin and allows for lots of vibration but it is not very protective. Hopefully Bruce Sexauer will respond as he uses a variety of finishes and makes responsive guitars.

Best,
Jayne
Old 07-17-2019, 09:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by carmike View Post

...Why doesn't varnish on guitars affect their sound?