The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-27-2015, 08:40 AM

Default Learning this.....deluxe blues

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wCktCSAerhU
Soulful.
I like it. I want to learn it or something like it.
Any suggestions on how to go about it? I reckon I have to learn it by watching picking it out note for note.

I've learned solos doing that - listening to it over and over.
Chords not so much. Most of I can see/extrapolate except for the parts not on camera

I'm guessing this is a "simple" blues progression. what key - I have no idea.

I'm just getting into theory so not much good there.

thanks
Old 03-27-2015, 09:12 AM

Awesome video El Duque. I'm not a theory expert but it sounds like it's in E to me (E-A7-B7)?. At least when I jam along with some E minor pentatonic scales it sounds ok to me.

Thanks for sharing.
Old 03-27-2015, 09:27 AM

Yes, it's in key of E, and it's a standard "jazz-blues" sequence - IOW, a couple of variations from the usual rock blues format.

These are the chords:
|E - - - |A7 - - - |E - - - |E9 - - - |
|A7 - - - | - - - - |E - - - |E - C#7 - |
|F#m7 - - - |B7 - - - |E - A7 - |E/B - B7 - |

The melody is based on chord tones, often sliding into them from blues-scale notes. And sometimes chromatic slides on the chords too (eg F9 to E9).
So you need to know all your shapes for the above chords (especially partial ones around the middle of the neck), and how the blues scale fits around them, and resolves into them.
Old 03-27-2015, 06:05 PM

thanks.

so learn chord shapes up and down esp. in the middle - get a chord book?
Is there an app for that lol? Dumb q. but how do you go about doing that. I get the basics but the partials etc.
and blues scales. I'm guessing there is more than one.....I will check into that.
then it all comes magically together - in a few years time?