The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-16-2019, 08:13 AM

Default Beginner question about finger picking

Hi Folks,

I'm a beginner, about 6 months in. I've been doing well and started off learning with a traditional pick. But after reviewing some instructional videos on finger picking, I decided to transition to a thumb pick, and now that feels pretty good. My long-term goals are to learn finger picking as I really like the sound.

Here's my question.
Since I'd like to learn finger picking someday, should I start with some of the basic finger picking techniques to build muscle memory in my right hand? I was thinking of continuing my lessons, (through various resources) but instead of finding the strings with a pick, I'd use the finger picking ideas to assign a finger to each string.
I tried a bit over the last few days and basic beginner songs that I could play well, are much harder because I’m not used to assigning each finger to a string. But, I’m ok with pushing through and practicing, but I’m just wondering if going down this road will hurt my progress, or if this is a decent idea.

Thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

I hope my question makes sense; I had a hard time putting my thoughts into words on this one.

Rick
Old 10-16-2019, 08:29 AM
Charter Member

Rick,

I'm not sure there is a right and wrong way to assign the fingers to strings. Some great players only used the thumb and first finger. But the way I learned from Mark Hanson's books was thumb on the bottom three strings and first, second and third fingers on the top three. I don't always do it this way, but it is a good way to start out, I think.

The best resources for me starting out were Hanson's Art of Contemporary Travis Picking book/CD and Toby Walker's short Introduction to Finger picking video course.

These will get you started in the right direction.

Best of luck!