The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 06-08-2018, 10:25 AM

Default New (used) Rainsong Day!

Picked up a mint condition CH-OM for a great price.

Here's my brief review: Holy Smokes.

Here's the longer story. I play in an acoustic trio, sometimes duo. I've been using a well worn Martin D16 for a few years now. I use a Fishman Loudbox Mini out to the PA with some mild processing (compression, EQ, maybe a touch of reverb now and then). I wanted a replacement for the Martin for several reasons, not all of which I will detail here, but one requirement was that I wanted a smaller bodied instrument.

I was familiar with CF guitars and Rainsongs but I had never played one. I always assumed they were "expensive". So two weeks ago I wasn't even seriously considering one. I'm not even sure how they came on my radar but I saw the new Concert Hybrid series on one of these forums (maybe here?) and it checked a lot of boxes for my needs. Part of the appeal also was their ability to withstand a wide range of conditions, and we have outdoor gigs coming up for the summer.

I spotted a used one on Reverb and it just happened to be about 45 minutes from here. I contacted the seller and arranged to try it out. As I drove to the guy's house I was kind of skeptical about the guitar. I'm not sure why, but I was telling myself that unless it really knocked my socks off I'd probably walk away and keep looking.