The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 02-26-2010, 01:56 PM

Default Play a tune of the song

Hi,

I am a novice in guitar and have picked up some chords and sclaes that I practice pretty regularly. At times when i listen to a song I feel like playing the tune on the guitar, but my i somehow manage to screw it up when I make an attempt. I mean I get no where close to the tune.

For eg: Yellow (Coldplay). In this song predominantly only chords are used, but lets say if I want to play the song like a solo (or the tune) how would I do it? Where do I start? How do I select the notes? I understand it totally depends on the ear, but there should be some trick to get to know the scale or the first note that can be possibly used. Any suggestions?
Old 02-26-2010, 02:04 PM

start by finding the root notes of the chords in the progression and string them together. try to single out the most noticable sound that you are hearing within each chord and string them together. this would be basically the melody line.

Last edited by arie; 02-26-2010 at 02:10 PM.
Old 02-26-2010, 02:08 PM

You might start out by getting your hands on the sheet music/tab, from someplace like here for example.
Old 03-05-2010, 12:04 PM

Thanks guys... I tried listening the song over and over again to figure out the root note and tried my hand on the guitar, to be honest most of the notes I tried sounded like the appropriate note to start with, but lost track mid way or wasn't convincing subsequently.

The question haunting me now is; how do i figure out what the root note is? How do i conclude in which scale the songs is to be able to use it's root note?
Old 03-05-2010, 12:45 PM

Sounds like your ear needs to be developped and the only way to do it is to listen to a lot of music and try to replicate a lot of music.