The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-28-2016, 09:19 PM

Default Quality guitar book for beginning player with musical background

Hi,

Im looking for a book to get my guitar playing started on the right foot. Im a music teacher with a solid music background and am wanting to advance my own guitar playing to help my teaching <junior high music). I'm a very independent learner and am pretty disciplined when it comes teaching myself and practicing, and am looking for a book that has a little bit of everything - advance strumming techniques, finger style, flat picking, etc.

Thanks for taking the time and I appreciate any recommendations you may have!
Old 09-29-2016, 06:31 AM

Rec...

No matter what printed material you find, please consider spending as much time simply listening to good examples as you do in reading and thought.

There is such a wealth of material even on YouTube.

You know that books can't tell you how it sounds just as maps won't transport you to a destination. Books are maps, listening is the trip...

Good luck, have fun.

Theory is the post mortem of Music.
Old 09-29-2016, 06:38 AM

Have you checked out justinguitar.com - lots of good stuff there.
Old 09-29-2016, 07:50 AM

I'm an overall beginner so take this with a grain of salt.

I can already read music from piano. Reading most of the guitar stuff I've done so far is easy for me *in terms of the reading*. (My fingers are another story entirely)

I've been using the Hal Leonard Guitar method books for the note reading stuff. The "Complete Edition books 1/2/3" has been pretty good in terms of playing single note melodies. I'm most of the way through Book 1, not really advancing super fast as I don't have a lot of time but it seems pretty good.