The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 02-27-2023, 12:13 PM
Charter Member

Default Limiting & Compression on Master Bus?

I understand the value of compression for individual instruments and Voice. I have especially enjoyed compression on Voice. My understanding is that compression was originally designed to help maximize Radio Station signals output. A compressed radio signal would reach out and clearly be heard at greater distances. This meant they could pull in more advertising dollars from towns further away. But they quickly realized that compression also had great value when used on solo instruments.

However, I have no practical knowledge of using a limiter. I have only briefly experimented using limiting when I use to own a 1176, using the 20/1 ratio. And a little bit on Buzz audio Velox compressor at 10/1 and 20/1. I knew not what I was doing in limiting mode, but did not find the desired effect to my liking.

However, I do realize that Limiting is used as a transient tamer? So best used lightly. And I can see where that could be very helpful on a master bus for the final mix.

I have heard many claim to use compression for the last stage for an overall Character enhancement? And Limiting to catch those fast transients.
I would like to have deeper clarification is on the uses of Compression & Limiting on the Master Bus Stereo Out and their implied benefits.

My basic questions are:
Could not transients be corrected before it gets to the the End stage?

Please tell me more about using Compression as a character enhancement on the end stage? Does application to the overall mix do something that can not be corrected individually?

And lastly, I often hear of people using two limiters one right after another. Or a Compressor first and then a limiter. Would like to learn more about the How & Why & the settings used.
Old 02-27-2023, 12:27 PM