The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 01-12-2011, 01:26 PM

Default Cheap mic for home recording

Hi,

sorry if this thread has been done already but I had a brief look and couldn't find anything.

I'm looking for a cheap way to record songs onto my computer. It would be for guitar and voice primarily, but probably a bit of violin/cello and percussion as well. It's really just for fun and experience of how to write and build a song, so something low cost (I am an impoverished student after all). I understand though that a cheap mic will probably still set me back a fair bit (I'm hoping sub £100)

Any suggestions for a setup/mic?

Thanks...
Old 01-12-2011, 01:39 PM

I'd consider something like the Blue Yeti. It's a decent mic / computer interface all in one ~100 USD.

http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Microphon...4862929&sr=8-4
Old 01-12-2011, 01:59 PM

A samson C01 might be worth considering. Review here.

I use one of these with an ART Tube MP pre-amp (the old one without all the EQ). You'll easily get the mic and pre-amp for under £100.

Samson also do a USB version although it won't sound quite as good.

Last edited by moon; 01-12-2011 at 02:08 PM.
Old 01-12-2011, 02:34 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveSlider View Post
Hi,

sorry if this thread has been done already but I had a brief look and couldn't find anything.

I'm looking for a cheap way to record songs onto my computer. It would be for guitar and voice primarily, but probably a bit of violin/cello and percussion as well. It's really just for fun and experience of how to write and build a song, so something low cost (I am an impoverished student after all). I understand though that a cheap mic will probably still set me back a fair bit (I'm hoping sub £100)

Any suggestions for a setup/mic?

Thanks...
Hi WaveSlider…