The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-06-2021, 07:55 PM

Default Using pick for beginners!

Hi Guys,

I am just starting to learn to play the acoustic guitar and I have problems with strumming by following your acoustic guitar beginner videos. My problem is that when I strum down with my pick my index finger always seem to get in the way for smooth strumming.

Can you give me some guidance?

Thanks,

Niall
Old 03-06-2021, 08:07 PM

Hard to do in writing...it would be easier if we could see what you are doing. A lot of issues like this are figured out with practice and eventually things seem to fall into place.

But, I will try. First, when you hold the pick, best practice is to pinch the pick between your thumb and the index finger. But you aren't using the tippy tip of your index finger when you pinch it; instead, your index finger is bent underneath the pick. Then, make sure your thumb is roughly running parallel with the strings, Most people don't have the tips of the finger and thumb pointing at the strings.

With all that being said, there are tons of variations and just about everyone holds a pick a little differently...this is the practice part and things seeming to fall into place naturally. Your body will eventually figure it out. Also, when I first started playing 30 years ago, I held the pick between my thumb, and index and 3rd finger. I still sometimes do that, but eventually trained myself to hold it more conventionally. I especially learned to let go with the 3rd finger when I started to learn hybrid picking.

Take it slow...and have fun. You will figure it out. When you first start playing, it is common for odd sounds to come out and things like this to occur...don't overly worry about it not being perfect and keep working on it.
Old 03-06-2021, 08:16 PM