The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-28-2021, 12:49 PM

Default Question on how to negotiate the best discounts

I've seen multiple posts on what "street value" is on certain guitars. I've whittled a selection down to either a Guild D55 or Martin D28 for my next guitar.

Many posts state to reach out to sponsors to get best pricing, but all the sponsors I have contacted are just giving me MAP pricing. Maybe it is pandemic related, or maybe I'm not asking the right questions.

Any one else still getting decent discounts?

TIA, I'm new to buying guitars in this price point, so this is a new journey for me. Previously I've been under $1k for all of my guitars.
Old 02-28-2021, 01:03 PM

How have you been asking thus far?

Last edited by TomB'sox; 02-08-2023 at 07:58 AM. Reason: Public discussion of price not allowed
Old 02-28-2021, 01:27 PM

No idea about Guild, but for Martin, reach out to Maury and ask what the best price he can do is. He was real straightforward with me when I asked.
Old 02-28-2021, 01:36 PM

When i look at prices of used guitars, they seem quite high compared to a year ago, and there aren’t many available (of the models I follow).

I think the pandemic is still affecting supply chains, and the amount of stock that is available. And i have read reports that demand for guitars is up.

Definitely call Maury if you haven’t already done so. But I wouldn’t be too surprised if the old guidelines about getting discounts is not applicable right now.
Old 02-28-2021, 01:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyhu View Post
When i look at prices of used guitars, they seem quite high compared to a year ago, and there aren’t many available (of the models I follow).

I think the pandemic is still affecting supply chains, and the amount of stock that is available. And i have read reports that demand for guitars is up.