The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Archtops

Old 06-11-2015, 07:45 PM

Default Top heavy

I'm new to archtop guitars. I tried playing my Eastman T185 standing (using a strap). The body is so much lighter than the head/neck that the head keeps falling down unless I'm actively holding the guitar. Never had that problem with my acoustics. Is this "normal"?
Old 06-12-2015, 06:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwstout View Post
I'm new to archtop guitars. I tried playing my Eastman T185 standing (using a strap). The body is so much lighter than the head/neck that the head keeps falling down unless I'm actively holding the guitar. Never had that problem with my acoustics. Is this "normal"?
Not normal but a well known problem in light weight archtop guitar design. I remember reading about it in Bob Benedetto's excellent "Making an Archtop Guitar" - start reading at "neck".

https://books.google.com/books?id=u7...20neck&f=false

If it doesn't work for you, better to find a more well balanced archtop. I don't remember having that problem with my Eastman 804CE. It felt very well balanced.
Old 06-12-2015, 08:31 AM

Neck dive. A common problem with a lot of guitars.
One solution is to use a wide strap with a soft inner surface that will grip your shoulder.

Another is to take a piece of light surgical tubing and tile a loop on one end, put your foot through it, put on your shoe, and tie the other end to the end pin area of your strap.

[the second solution is a joke]
Old 06-15-2015, 02:42 PM

Had the same problem with my T5, tried several things, but the strap change worked best, the wide soft leather straps with the unfinished side down are the ones I liked best, they don't slip. I think before that I had the slipperiest straps money could buy, never noticed until I got a neck-heavy guitar. :-)
Zoom G3 pedal
Amps: THR-10 (small), DBR-10 (med), QSC-K10 (large)
Old 06-16-2015, 01:12 AM

Quote: