The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-05-2010, 08:29 AM

Default A little info please

I've been playing guitar in metal bands for around 15 years but circumstances changed (band split up) and I've had an epiphany: I saw Trace Bundy play in a bar in Glasgow (Scotland) recently and he blew my mind. I'd never seen acoustic guitar played like that before. I went on to find out that "fingerstyle" is what I would like to hear more of and learn so I've been busily learning his Dueling Ninja tune and getting lessons off youtube.

Question I'd like to ask: Can anyone recommend me more guitarists in a similar vein to TB? I have no idea how to identify them or even where to look.

Mega thanks for any info,
Steve
Old 01-05-2010, 02:08 PM

Hi Steve,

I am not very familiar with Trace Bundy, but if fingerstyle is your interest, here are a few greats.

Tommy Emmanuel
Laurence Juber
Doyle Dykes
Stephen Bennett
Richard Smith
Doug Smith
Pat Donhue
Bruce Mathiske
Joe Robinson
Buster B Jones
and of course - Chet Atkins

And for a little taste of electric acoustic - Monty Mongomery

I am sure others will chime in with many more. I think you will find the challenges of fingerstyle very rewarding. I love it when I hear stories of converts.

Best Regards,
Christian Reno
Old 01-05-2010, 02:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian Reno View Post
I am not very familiar with Trace Bundy, but if fingerstyle is your interest, here are a few greats.
Christian,

Trace Bundy is yet another tapping virtuoso. I really wish those guys would come up with a better term than "fingerstyle" which already is expected to cover about half a dozen mutually-exclusive categories of playing technique.

Steve,