The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 01-09-2019, 12:28 PM

Default Flat grain in curly maple

I purchased a back and side set of soft curly maple. After I got it I realized that the two back pieces have a section of flat grain in the middle with generally vertical grain along the sides. I'm disappointed with the set but was wondering if it might be okay to use since it's my first build. Would it be a waste of time to build with it or would it be likely to crack later? Any thoughts on this would be welcome.[IMG][/IMG]

I have attached some photo links for reference.

Last edited by Trees123; 01-09-2019 at 12:32 PM. Reason: trying to post photos
Old 01-09-2019, 01:01 PM

For a first guitar, generally it's better to build with unfigured, inexpensive wood. Figured maple can be a challenge at times. If you build it with a higher moisture content and then expose it to a dry winter environment, cracking can happen. That might or might not be a factor in playability. If this is your first, learn how to build before using your best wood and this set based on your short description might better used later on.
Old 01-09-2019, 01:22 PM

thanks J Daniel.
Actually, it's a pretty cheap set that I found on ebay. At the time, I failed to notice that it was not quartersawn.
I'll try again to post the photos.

Old 01-09-2019, 02:57 PM

Still no photos...
Old 01-09-2019, 03:06 PM

The photos can be downloaded and viewed:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5szcjemc4z..._4305.JPG?dl=1

https://www.dropbox.com/s/d6psldjeqx..._4304.JPG?dl=1

It's a lot of effort to make a guitar. I'd use better materials. They don't have to expensive, just better suited to guitar making.
Old 01-09-2019, 03:48 PM

I agree with Charles.